» San Jose City

SAN JOSE CITY is a 2nd class city of Nueva Ecija, Philippines. San Jose is one of the three major cities in Nueva Ecija (Region III). The area is called the Central Plains of Luzon for its production and supply of rice in the country.

The city was once named as “Kabaritan” which was derived from the plant that was abundant in the area prior to the arrival of the Spaniards. The early inhabitants’ livelihood is more on hunting and fishing. Eventually neighboring towns made their settlement in San Jose due to its wide and agricultural plains.

Upon the arrival of the Spaniards in 17th century, the population increased considerably and went into intensive agriculture. The main crop today is rice, but Nueva Ecija is also a main source of mangoes for the Luzon area.

In the 18th century, the province also served as a seat for the Philippine Revolutionary Government


The current population of San Jose City is 108,254 people in 23,191 households. Predominant language used is Tagalog, followed by Ilocano dialect, Pampango, Pangasinan, Bicol and Ilonggo.

Agriculture is the prime revenue of San Jose City since it is a part of the rice granary of the Philippines. However other agri-based produce are vegetables, fruits and onions. The city is now a leading producer of onions in the country.

The city has two pronounced seasons, rainy season from the months of May to November and the dry season in the remaining months.

The city celebrates Tanduyong Festival every month of April which coincides with the city fiesta. Tanduyong is a variety of onion grown in the area.

The city local crops range from rice, corn, and onion; thus the city is also referred to as the “Rice Bowl of the Philippines.” Other crops are mango, banana, eggplant, and garlic.

On February 16, 1984 the Diocese of San Jose was created by Pope John Paul II. The creation of the new diocese bisected the province horizontally into the Diocese of Cabanatuan in the south, and the Diocese of San Jose in the north, both them suffragans of the Archdiocese of Lingayen-Dagupan. 80% of the city residents are Catholics and the patron saint is Saint Joseph. The feast is celebrated every March 19 annually. The diocese now has 17 parishes administered by 22 priests working under one bishop. Among its Catholic institutions are 9 high schools, 4 elementary schools, 6 kindergarten schools, 1 diocesan catechetical center, and the Don Bosco Training Center.

LIST OF “BARANGAYS” (or communities)
San Jose City has 38 barangays:

  • A. Pascual
  • Abar 1st
  • Abar 2nd
  • Bagong Sikat
  • Caanawan
  • Calaocan
  • Camanacsacan
  • Culaylay
  • Dizol
  • Kaliwanagan
  • Kita-Kita
  • Malasin
  • Manicla
  • Palestina
  • Parang Mangga
  • Villa Joson (Parilla)
  • Pinili
  • Rafael Rueda, Sr. Pob.
  • Ferdinand E. Marcos Pob.
  • Canuto Ramos Pob.
  • Raymundo Eugenio Pob.
  • Crisanto Sanchez Pob.
  • Porais
  • San Agustin
  • San Juan
  • San Mauricio
  • Santo Niño 1st
  • Santo Niño 2nd
  • Santo Tomas
  • Sibut
  • Sinipit Bubon
  • Santo Niño 3rd
  • Tabulac
  • Tayabo
  • Tondod
  • Tulat
  • Villa Floresca
  • Villa Marina


The park is situated at the gateway to the Cagayan Valley, at the foot of Mount Caraballo. This place is truly a haven for nature lovers and one can enjoy picnics and sightseeing. It has a hundred step stairs leading to lamp-lit pagodas in the hilltop, and is a nice spot to view Nueva Ecija.

This falls are located in the city proper, ideal for picnics and bathing especially during summer period.


Major bus companies in Manila ply the route going to San Jose City along the Pan Philippine Highway. Baliwag Transit in Cubao has buses that travel specifically to and from Nueva Ecija.