» Lucena City

LUCENA CITY is the capital city of Quezon province which is a 1st class highly urbanized city. The city is bounded in the north and northeast side by Pagbilao, south and southeast side by Tayabas Bay, on the southwest by Sariaya, and northwest side by Tayabas and Lucena City.

It was stated in history books that a Spaniard by the name of Capitan Juan De Salcedo was the first one who explored the province of Tayabas in the year 1571 to 1572. Then later on, Franciscan priests founded Tayabas, Lucena town in between 1580 to 1583.

In the turn of the 16th century, the barrio was called “Buenavista” due to the beautiful scenery of the place and was later renamed to “Oroquieta” in honor of a Spanish Governor. Then in the 17th century, the name was changed to “cotta” meaning a strong fort along the seashores in defense of Muslim pirates. It was on November 5, 1879, when the municipality formally became “Lucena” in honor of a Spanish friar who was responsible for the development of the barrio. And on June 1, 1882 Lucena became an independent municipality.

The first elected municipal president of Lucena in the First Philippine Republic is Don Crisanto Marquez in the year 1898. The following year Filipino-American War emerged killing many Filipinos and Americans. A few years later, a civil government was established in the province of Tayabas on March 12, 1901. Lucena eventually became a provincial capital.

On December 27, 1941, Lucena was occupied by the Japanese Forces as World War II started. Then on January 25, 1945, the Hunter ROTC guerillas of Lucena succeeded in driving out the Japanese forces in their town. And on April 4, 1945, Quezon province gained independence.

Lucena was only made as a chartered city by virtue of Republic Act No. 3271 on June 17, 1961 and inaugurated on August 19, 1962 during the 84th birthday anniversary of the late President Manuel L. Quezon. Today, Lucena is already a highly urbanized city with a goal of becoming an Economic Zone.


The total land area of Lucena City is approximately 8,913.60 hectares. The city has a flat terrain with slightly rolling hills, and has nine rivers and six creeks that serve as natural drainage. Lucena is blocked in between two big rivers, the Dumacaa and Iyam Rivers which has an abundant deposit of gravel and sand as well as boulders. Marshes that can be found in the seacoast has been converted into fishponds.

Lucena city has a current total population of 220,834 people in 44,952 households with an annual population growth rate of 2.12%. The predominant language used is Tagalog, followed by Bicol dialect, Masbateño and other migrant’s dialect.

Lucena is host to most of the branches of governmental agencies, businesses, banks and service facilities in the Southern Tagalog region. And as a center for businesses, these help in the commerce and industry of the city.

Currently, high-rise buildings are already visible in this city that houses entertainment hubs, shop­ping malls, business offices, novelty stores and food chains. Hotels, lodging houses and restaurants are also provided. Trendy entertain­ment venues boast of good food, drinks and services at affordable prices.

The City has no dry season with a maximum rainy period during the months of October to January. Weather temperature ranges from 17.5 °C to 35 °C.

Lucena city is famous for its coconut crops and rice varieties.

Lucena City boasts itself of various festivities especially during the month of May, showcasing the municipality’s rich Filipino culture and traditional practices. Among these festivals are:

  • The Feast of San Isidro Labrador - This feast is celebrated every May 15 of the year, in honor of the farmer’s patron Saint as thanksgiving for a bountiful harvest. The festivity is very colorful, as houses are decorated with all sorts of fruits, candies, food crops and colored “Kiping” that is made out of rice.
  • Pasayahan sa Lucena - The festival is celebrated on May 27 to 29 annually, patterned after a Mardi Gras Festival in Rio de Janeiro with dancing, singing and merry-making on the street.
  • Ugat Lucena - This is celebrated on the eve of the City Fiesta, in commemoration of its original townsfolk who have already settled abroad tracing ones family origin, old friends and neighbors.
  • City Fiesta - The Fiesta is celebrated every May 30 of the year, in honor of Saint Ferdinand. Other festivities also includes Lucena’s version of Ati-Atihan, Igorot Cañao, Mascara Festival, Muslim Wedding, Moriones Festival, Penagbenga Flower Festival, Santacruzan and Pista sa Nayon.

LIST OF “BARANGAYS” (or communities)
Lucena city is composed of 33 barangays, 11 of which are classified as urban; 16, rural; 6, coastal:

  • Barangay 1 (Pob.)
  • Barangay 2 (Pob.)
  • Barangay 3 (Pob.)
  • Barangay 4 (Pob.)
  • Barangay 5 (Pob.)
  • Barangay 6 (Pob.)
  • Barangay 7 (Pob.)
  • Barangay 8 (Pob.)
  • Barangay 9 (Pob.)
  • Barangay 10 (Pob.)
  • Barangay 11 (Pob.)
  • Barra
  • Bocohan
  • Mayao Castillo
  • Cotta
  • Gulang-gulang
  • Dalahican
  • Domoit
  • Ibabang Dupay
  • Ibabang Iyam
  • Ibabang Talim
  • Ilayang Dupay
  • Ilayang Iyam
  • Ilayang Talim
  • Isabang
  • Mayao Crossing
  • Mayao Kanluran
  • Mayao Parada
  • Mayao Silangan
  • Ransohan
  • Salinas
  • Talao-talao
  • Market View


  • Botanical Garden & Arboretum
  • Cotta Port
  • Dalahican Beach Resort
  • Lucena Fish Port
  • Lucena Commercial Port (PPA)
  • Lucena Grand Central Terminal
  • Lucena Perez Park
  • Metro Lucena
  • Ocean Palace Mall
  • Orchids Country Farm
  • Ouans Worth Farm
  • Pacific Mall
  • Provincial Capitol Building
  • SM City Lucena Mall
  • South Waters Marina & Country Club
  • St. Alphonsus Seminary
  • St. Ferdinand Cathedral
  • Talao-Talao Beach Resort
  • Pacific Mall
  • Metro Gaisano
  • Lucena City Hall
  • Quezon Convention Center
  • Yawe Arcade
  • D' Arcade


Lucena City is just approximately 86 kilometers away from Manila, a one and a half (1 1/2) hours drive by car through the South Expressway.